My nutrition experiments

Peat type meals

My creepy looking hand when it gets cold. Yuck.

Here’s a selection of the things I’ve been eating this week, most nice, one pretty disgusting.

Breakfast, pretty typically:

This was a study day at home, I prefer to get stuck in and then stop after half an hour to eat. Two eggs, salt, half a litre of OJ, milky coffee. Calculator is a little too high in xeno-estrogens for regular consumption.

What I typically bring to work- half a litre of skimmed milk, 2 carrots, coconut oil, half a litre of OJ (having drank the first half for breakfast) and some eggs and cheese, or maybe cottage cheese or cold shellfish.

I eat my carrots in work bugs bunny style, with a tablespoon of coconut oil straight up:

And when I’m at home, I have the luxury of my food processor, so they get the carrot salad treatment- dressed in lemon juice, salt and coconut oil:

A home lunch:

Cottage cheese and tinned peaches in sugar syrup

Dinners are usually lighter than they used to be, but I have a little custard and fruit or milk and honey about an hour before bed. Here’s some beef broth with sieved tomato:

And another night I treated myself to something a little more starchy, mashed turnip (rutabaga) with broth, butter and cheese:

I actually couldn’t finish that bowl. Simple sugars throughout the day appear to better regulate my appetite and I don’t cram my stomach in the evenings. Maybe it’s also not being as used to starch as my main carbohydrate. It was delish though, especially with plenty of salt:D (which totally warms me up).

Continuing the salt success, I tried a Peat special- sugared and salted milk with gelatin stirred in (I drank it hot so the gelatin hadn’t gelled up yet). It was pretty bad, I like salty things but not salty milk:( I also find hot milk makes me phlegmy whereas cold milk doesn’t. I think I can’t handle the milk proteins once they’re denatured. Boke, won’t be repeating that experiment. I think I like my salt with fish, broths and eggs!

Yucky milk concoction.

I am still noticing better appetite on this diet. I’m not as ravenous as on a paleo type diet. I still get cold but I now have more spells where my hands are comfortably warm. And my period this time was not as crampy:) I’ve also began to lose some weight, jeans are noticeably looser this week. I imagine if I drank nothing but salty milk I would lose my hips very quickly!

7 responses

  1. are you still having luck with Peat’s recommendations? I’ve trying to eat Peat style for a while, but I have a hard time “remembering” to eat the gelatin :P

    December 20, 2011 at 02:38

    • Yes I am, the improvements to my health are still happening, albeit slower than at the beginning, but I do feel properly energetic for the first time in a long time. I don’t eat as much gelatin as some other Peat eaters, I find I get enough protein from eggs and milk on a daily basis and I make a bone broth once a week for a high glycine meat dish as well as eating things like low fat white fish and shellfish. If I’m cooking regular beef or lamb mince (aka ground meat), I dissolve some gelatin and stir it into the mince as it cooks. I make jello once every now and again too. Regular gelatin makes me a bit bloated, and I’ve heard a lot of people who do this say the same. I have no problems at all with gelatinous stews with oxtail, bone etc and jello type dishes, in fact I find them very soothing. I think cooking it into a meal really helps.

      December 20, 2011 at 10:03

  2. Monica

    Hi Elimear,

    My name is Monica, I have had amenorrhear for a long time now and I am starting to follow some of Ray Peat’s work. Did you have a consultation with him? I do not need to loose weight and it seems that fruit juice and dairy do not agree with me very well. I would love if I could get in touch with you to hear your experience so far.

    Blessings,
    Monica

    February 15, 2012 at 20:28

    • I didn’t really need to lose weight either. I got my period back after 6 weeks of eating plenty of fruit, OJ, meat, shellfish, milk and cheese, but I did end up eating more calories. I think I was really quite undernourished after years of veganism and then paleo- both quite restrictive. I gradually increased as I got more energy and my appetite was stimulated. I used to eat only 1400-1500 cals a day, I now eat just over 2000 with no weight gain. Calories aren’t the whole story, but it’s a good guide to making sure you’re getting enough. With a high enough intake, you should get enough vitamins and minerals. I used to find milk intolerable, but if you reduce foods that ferment in the bowel rather than are easily digested (ie cut down on vegetables, grains and beans and eat more fruit and even some sugar). Low fat milk with added sugar or honey, some salt and eat some coconut oil along with it can help make the milk more digestible. The raw carrot is important in helping the bowel heal and be more tolerant of dairy. Plenty of protein is important (I get cold if I eat less than 100g a day) to energise your liver and help your body regulate the correct balance of hormones. My periods aren’t perfectly normal yet, I still have long cycles. Aspirin, salt and progesterone can help your tummy and your hormones. I also take thyroid hormone as I was always very cold. I didn’t have a consultation with Ray but exchanged a few emails. When I got my periods back, I was getting the old cramps I used to get. I have always had spasmodic dysmenorrhea (when I didn’t have amenorrhea), which will probably only completely resolve if I have a baby. Aspirin (600-1200mg a day) has helped take the edge off. How long have you been eating a Peat inspired diet? Keep me posted if you keep going, and if you see any results.

      February 15, 2012 at 20:49

  3. Monica

    Hi Eimear,

    I just realized that you responded to my comment, thank you! Basically, I have never restricted carbohydrates, but around 1.5 years ago, I did a detox diet and lost a lot of weight and loss my menses and my TSH and T3 went down. I tried eating 2000 calories a day for a year while including rice, oatmeal, sweet potatoes, chicken, eggs, fish and oils (no omega 6 but I was including omega 3).

    After one year of consistent eating whole natural foods I was not improving my condition, so I started researching and came across Peat’s work. I have never had any significant constipation, in fact, I think carbohydrates improve my eliminations. Since I started eating within Peat’s guidelines, I have had terrible constipation, blood sugar imbalances and have not felt great, but I am willing to keep on going if I can regain my menses and regulate my hormones. I am still having a hard time with dairy and fruit.

    Do you think that you gained your menses back as a result of increasing your calories or as a result of Peat’s recommended foods? Are you still following his guidelines? Have your symptoms improved so far?

    Great to be in touch with you!

    Monica

    March 2, 2012 at 01:02

    • If I were you, I’d keep more rice and potatoes in your diet, even some oats; if this improves your bowel function, then that’s a big piece of keeping hormone function optimal. If your change in diet has made it worse, it’s going to be even harder to get things working. Do you eat the raw grated carrot everyday? I know it’s helpful for most people who follow Peat’s ideas with constipation or diarrhea. It didn’t really help me until I took thyroid hormone and psyllium works well for me at the moment, but I wouldn’t recommend it, especially if you’ve not had this problem before.
      I wonder if with low TSH, perhaps your amenorrhea is hypopituitarism. Have you had your FSH and LH tested?
      If milk is a problem, try calcium carbonate first (either powdered eggshells or you can buy the powder). It can help improve lactose intolerance. It’s best to start slowly, about a cup of milk with food.
      What types of fruits are you eating? Things without too much skin and seeds may be easier to eat. Melon, cherries and citrus fruits and their juices are good (grapefruit is high in phytoestrogens, other citrus fruit is fine).
      If you are having blood sugar problems, make sure you eat carbohydrate rich foods with protein and fat. Fat especially with starchy foods. I’m ok with blood sugar and can handle sugar more or less alone sometimes, as long as I eat frequently so I don’t get hungry.
      Yes, still following Peat’s guidelines. My cycles are long but they’re back at least. I am warmer and skin isn’t dry anymore. Most days I eat 2000-2500 calories without weight gain but I worked up to that slowly as a few months ago I was gaining weight easily.
      Hope that helps! I don’t blog at all these days (wish I had the time) but if you leave comments I’ll reply:)

      March 2, 2012 at 07:54

      • Monica

        Hi Eimear!

        Thanks again!! I made a mistake, when I told you my TSH was low (because T3 is low and THS is high). Right now, I am re-introducing milk very slowly, about 1/4 cup two times per day. I am also having ice-cream and cheese (which I think also constipates me). I am having orange juice, but my blood sugar does not respond very well to the juice or the fruits, even when I have them with protein and fats. I feel much more stable when I have protein, fat and starch like potatoes or rice, so I am planning on having more rice, potatoes, yams and sourdough bread and less orange juice. I have seen that I respond ok to berries and kiwis, but I know they are not approved because of their seed content. I have seen that my body responds well to animal protein (beef, lamb, eggs) and starches (potatoes, sweet potatoes, rice, oatmeal, bread), but I know that I have to have milk and dairy to balance those foods and specially because I have Osteopenia, which is something that hopefully will improve once I get my menses back.
        I really appreciate your comments, THANK YOU!!

        March 3, 2012 at 03:53

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.