My nutrition experiments

Peatarian experiment update

In September I shifted my paleo ways towards some recommendations of Ray Peat’s, with the aim of sorting out my hormonal and digestive issues. I did a post of what I was eating.

Plus side:

I got my period back in mid October. My last one was January 2010, and despite being paleo and eating plenty of real food from early this year, there were no improvements until I started slamming the fruit, eggs and dairy. It probably didn’t help that I was still running up until April, working out a lot, and I did lose about half a stone in the first part of the year.

Negs/what I need to tweak:

I was eating plenty of starch in the last month or two, and unfortunately that has led to a few pounds of weight gain, and although I haven’t had any worsening of IBS, my constipation hasn’t improved a bit, but then, of all Peat’s suggestions, I’ve been the laziest about the one that’s supposed to help with bowel elimination/peristalsis, the raw carrot salad.

In general, I think Peat is working fairly well for me, although I need to be stricter with the carrot and go low on starches, eat more fruit and sugar instead. Fat content of my diet is higher than Peat would recommend, going to try to get that from 50% to 25% of calories. What can I say, I love fatty lamb and cheese. Instead I’m going to eat cottage cheese and skimmed milk more, and make more broths rather than eating as much gelatinuous joints, which have a lot of fat as well as gelatin.

My mood is overall better too. I still have bad days especially if it’s been very dark.

Another update to follow, hopefully before the end of the year…!

2 responses

  1. this is awesome to hear. eggs/dairy/fruit and your period came back?? i am working to get mine back too! any links for why the starch is inferior to the fruit? i ‘like’ starch much more than fruit and couldnt see peat as something i would ever want to stick to

    November 28, 2011 at 21:08

    • http://raypeat.com/articles/articles/glycemia.shtml
      That’s basically Ray Peat’s take on starch v simple sugars in fruit. I love my starches and I did eat plenty for a while there, but I put on more weight than I liked (I’ve trimmed back up with fruit). I’m also feeling warmer, happier and more energetic. I’ve never felt this good on any diet, but that’s just me. You have to find what works for you. All I can say is, it’s been nothing short of miraculous for me. It’s taken less than 3 months to get to this stage. Good luck! :)

      November 28, 2011 at 22:34

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.